Eat Vegan in Bali

I LOVE Bali!! Over the last 4 years it really has become my second home.

I don’t go to Bali for the usual reasons though. I don’t drink alcohol and don’t particularily   love laying by a pool in a luxurious hotel (crazy I know), I go for the incredible Nature, Balinese People and the unbelievable Vegan Food.

I spend a lot of time in Ubud in particular because it is the Spiritual & Vegan Hub of Bali. Every time I visit I seem to discover new gems hidden all over the place.

I am really excited to share with you all of my favourite places to eat in Ubud as well as  a few photos of what I ate at the cafes and Restaurants to give you an idea of what it’s like.
I personally make an effort to order more traditional Balinese meals when I am in Bali because they are particularly delicious and you can’t get them back home in Australia.

The Elephant

The Elephant was a stand out favourite to me. The food was to die for. It was fresh, tasty and incredibly delicious. I had breakfast here as well as dinner twice because I couldn’t resist going back.

The Smoothies at The Elephant would have to be one of the best smoothies I have ever had in my life. I had a Dragon Fruit, Mango and Coconut Smoothie and my dad Greg had a Strawberry, Coconut Smoothie. They were super thick, aesthetically beautiful and so tasty.

Dinner was unreal! We shared 2 starters and 2 salads that were so incredibly filling and delicious. We could not fault the meal or service..

The Elephant-4 webThe Elephant-2

Address: Hotel Taman Indrakila, Jalan Raya Sanggingan, Ubud, Kec. Gianyar, Bali, Indonesia
Phone:+62 851-0016-1907
Hours: 8am–10pm

Clear Cafe

Clear Cafe was one of my absolute favourites when I visited Bali last year in May.
It isn’t a vegan cafe however that have a really large range of vegan meals on offer as well as yummy smoothies, juices and raw desserts.

Clear Cafe didn’t blow me away this time however last time it was amazing. It was still pretty yummy and the views over the temple is hard to beat. The service wasn’t great unfortunately however I don’t blame them seeing it’s a massive Restaurant.

I had a Traditional Balinese meal, rice paper rolls and a Papaya Smoothie. My Dad and I shared a Raw Dessert that was delectable.

Clear Kafe -6 web copy

Address: Jalan Campuhan, Ubud, Kec. Gianyar, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone:+62 878-6219-7585
Hours:  8am–11pm

Dayu’s Warung

Dayu’s Warung is hidden away in one of the streets of Ubud.
It would have to be the best value for your dollar $
The location and restaurant itself is not much to look at however the food is incredible.
It costs only a few dollars for a main mean and snacks. You can have a massive feast and it will only cost you $10. Its crazy!! Great place to go if your on a budget.

They also have a fridge full of Raw Vegan Desserts, Kombucha and other delicious juices and health remedies.

Day 2 -20
Day 2 -24

Address: Jl. Sugriwa No. 28X, Padang Tegal Mekar Sari, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone:+62 361 978965
Hours: 8am–10pm

Seeds of Life

Seeds of life is a Raw Vegan Cafe where they run Raw Cooking Courses and other health based events.
The food was delicious, fresh and healthy. I had a Raw Vegan Mexican Lasagne and an amazing healthy smoothie, and my friend Renee had the Rainbow Salad with a green juice.

I left feeling really satisfied looking forward to visiting again. I was really impressed with the flavours being 100% Raw. I highly recommend visiting it. We went back for lunch and loved it too.
Day 3 -31
Address: Jalan Gootama No. 2, Ubud, Kec. Gianyar, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone:+62 361 970650

Hours:  9am–10pm

Soma Organic Cafe

Soma Organic Cafe would have to be one of the most beautiful cafes in Bali.

As you enter you walk through this beautiful grand green door, the seating surrounds a beautiful garden and there is a juice/ coconut bar on the right as you walk in.

The food is very traditional. I really enjoyed it however the portion sizes are quite small in comparison to the other Restaurants. It is great that it is organic and the menu is so enormous.. I had rice paper rolls, a rainbow salad and a noni juice. We met up with friends who had a range of dishes we shared also.

Day 3 -13
Day 3 -15

 

Address: Jalan Gautama Utara, Ubud, Kec. Gianyar, Bali, Indonesia
Phone:+62 361 8493655

Alchemy

If your into eating healthy and raw Alchemy will be your favourite place to eat in Bali.

Alchemy were renovating when I visited this time so they are currently running out of a hotel nearby. I love the people who go to Alchemy. It attracts all the Spiritual travellers who have made Bali their new home. Its always so entertaining talking to them about what they do, bali and the universe in general.

The food is unreal. The desserts are to die for and they have the biggest range of juices and smoothies to offer. Attached to Alchemy is their very own health food shop also which is super fun to look at while your waiting.

Bali Retreat 2015 -3

 

Bali Retreat 2015 -1.jpg

Address: Jl. Penestanan Klod No.75, Ubud, Kec. Gianyar, Bali, Indonesia
Phone:+62 361 971981
Hours:   7am–9pm

Earth Cafe

Earth Cafe is a really great place that will have all that you need. There is a massive health food shop as part of it as well as an art gallery and clothing store. It is a little bit more expensive and the health food store add an additional 30% because of taxes to all their products, so try to bring what you need from home.

There is also an Earth Cafe in Seminyak which I visited as well. It didn’t disappoint. The food is delicious. I loved the coconut curry and the smoothies. They also do take away and have a yummy raw desserts in their fridge also. Worth experiencing!

Day 2 -17

Address: Jl. Goutama Sel., Kabupaten Gianyar, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone:+62 361 7835545

Hours:

Open today · 7am–10pm

Bali Buddha

Bali Buddha is a Health food shop/ bakery. They also have a Restaurant that isn’t Vegan however they have options.
I love the health food shop. I bought some natural beauty products and ear candles as well as some delicious bliss balls.
We went to the cafe also, the food was ok, but we couldn’t help but compare it to all the other incredible places we had been to the previous days.

I didn’t bring my camera to take ant photos of the food unfortunately.

Address: Jalan Jembawan No. 1, Kec. Gianyar, Bali, Indonesia
Phone:+62 361 976324

Hours:

Open today · 6am–10pm

Day 2 -15

Thats just a little taste of Ubud!
If you have anymore to add please comment below and share your favourites so I can check them out when I visit again for my next Bali Retreat in July.

❤ and light

Tegan Steele
xx

4 thoughts on “Eat Vegan in Bali

  1. Awesome, thanks Tegan, I am going to file this away for a future trip. I have been to Ubud before, however that was before I appreciated healthy raw vegan food as I do now, so think a trip back is on the cards.

    Have you come across any good yoga retreats that combine raw cooking school over there?

    Ben and I are thinking of going over, probably doing a surfing/yoga school and I would love to be able to throw in some raw food cooking to complement my raw desert business that I have started Elle & Eve’s Kitchen.

    So wonderful to see where you are taking everything.

    x El

Leave a comment