MANDALA Meditation & Art Expression

If you are creative and love to meditate Mandala Drawing could be the perfect way for you to relax, silence the mind and meditate for you. I started drawing mandalas out of the blue one day when my little sister brought her ink and paper home from uni. I never knew where it would take me and the benefits I would receive by creating them.

Mandala means “sacred circle” in Sanskrit. Circles appear in nature (flowers, snowflakes, sun, moon, etc.), architecture and are also powerful symbols in different countries & cultures throughout world history.

In various spiritual traditions, mandalas are used to facilitate meditation and are used in sacred rites as a transformative tool to assist with healing.

Tibetan Buddhist Monks and Native American Indians all use mandalas as a way of evoking spiritual energy, meditation and healing.Psychologist Carl Jung used mandalas with his clients and for his own personal growth. His studies revealed their creation allowed a deep healing to take place from within the human psyche.

People who color mandalas often experience a deep sense of calm and well-being. It’s a simple tool that doesn’t require any ability, but it can be remarkably soothing and nourishing.

I personally experience deep relaxation when drawing and painting my mandalas. I have found great pleasure in creating works of art that come into my mind unconsciously. I have also done mandalas with food, flowers and leaves and rocks on the beach.

Here are a few of my mandalas. I also add precious gems as my little trademark 🙂

11169810_875937355795952_6513260444521690993_n

All my mandalas are so different depending on my mood and mind space.

 IMG_1380

IMG_4135

IMG_4112

Mandalas can take a short amount of time to an entire day. Most of mine have taken me hours on end. I often start one and go back to it day after day.

I am selling a few framed mandalas at my café Urban Projuice in Albert Park.

Post your mandalas on instagram and tag @vegiegirl_ I would love to see them!

xoxo Tegan aka Vegie Girl

Leave a Reply

