Why I became Vegan

A few years ago I would never have imagined that this would be my life. I was a big meat-eater and now I am Tegan the Vegan!!

I have now been Vegan for almost 5 years, and it has been the best 5 years of my life. I have now discovered my passion and purpose in life and live it every day.

5 years ago I was eating a strict High Protein, Low Carbohydrate, Paleo Diet. My diet consisted of, steak, tuna or salmon with veggies, mostly greens, 1 piece of fruit, a handful of nuts, protein smoothies and yoghurt.

I had chronic IBS (Irritable Bowel Syndrome) Fructose intolerance, and hormonal imbalances to name a few of my health issues. I looked great but felt horrible.  I could never satisfy my hunger. I had cravings that would put me in the worst moods ever. At times I felt like a monster! I was not myself at all. I used to restrict calories so much so I could achieve the slender look for modelling, I was miserable.. On top of that just to maintain my figure I would go to the gym 2 times a day 6 days a week!

My day revolved around my next meal. I would measure everything I ate!! I could only have 120grams of meat with each meal which was mostly greens. 2 scoops of protein in each smoothie, 1 piece of fruit as a snack! Occasionally I would cheat and eat 2. :0 And if I did I would go to the gym for a second spin class, or walk for 1 hour to make up for it.

Now that I look back on it, it was not healthy at all. Although I thought it was.

Now I am Vegan and thriving in all areas of my life. Experiencing the world in a conscious way. Aspiring to help change the world in every way I can.

I became vegan for 4 reasons! Here is why..

Health

I initially became Vegan for my Health. I came across a vegan diet when searching for a natural method of healing Mum’s Cronh’s Disease and my IBS. I watched a few documentaries including Food Matters and Forks Over Knives that really opened my eyes. I read so many amazing stories of people healing themselves on a plant-based diet and learnt about the Gerson Therapy. So I went cold turkey and became vegan overnight along with my mum.

Our health has improved out of sight. My energy has increased 10 fold and my body functions 100%. I don’t have any of my IBS symptoms anymore, my fructose intolerance is gone and I can eat massive amounts of food without restricting what I eat.

Animals

The second reason why I became vegan was for the animals. Unfortunately my eyes were closed from the truth for so long. I had absolutely no idea what was happening to animals behind closed doors. I forced myself to watch earthlings the night after I became vegan to give myself more reason to stick to a vegan lifestyle. I was shocked and ashamed that I didn’t know for so long. I had nightmares of eating meat by accident in my dreams. It literally haunted me.

It’s incredible how ignorant we can be from the truth just for the sake of our taste buds and social life. I am so happy that I have now learnt the truth.

sea shepherd -1

Environment

After watching Earthlings I joined up to all the animal cruelty organisations to educate myself further and started to learn about how the meat and dairy industry have a massive impact on our environment.

I also just watched the documentary Cowspiracy which alerted me to how serious the matter is. Here are some astounding facts about how livestock effect our environment.

Animal agriculture is responsible for 18 percent of greenhouse gas emissions, more than all transportation combined. [i]

Fao.org. Spotlight: Livestock impacts on the environment.

http://www.fao.org/ag/magazine/0612sp1.htm

Livestock and their byproducts actually account for at least 32,000 million tons of carbon dioxide (CO2) per year, or 51% of all worldwide greenhouse gas emissions.

Goodland, R Anhang, J. “Livestock and Climate Change: What if the key actors in climate change were pigs, chickens and cows?”

WorldWatch, November/December 2009. Worldwatch Institute, Washington, DC, USA. Pp. 10–19.

http://www.worldwatch.org/node/6294

Animal agriculture use ranges from 34-76 trillion gallons of water annually. [ii]

Pimentel, David, et al. “Water Resources: Agricultural And Environmental Issues.” BioScience 54, no. 10 (2004): 909-18.

http://bioscience.oxfordjournals.org/content/54/10/909.full

10712864_795363313853357_977140437615001851_n

Spiritual Growth

Since becoming vegan my mind has expanded in so many ways. Spiritually I have grown and become so much more aware and conscious of everything that is happening in my life and the world. I have become so connected to my body and intuition.

I have an intention for everything I do. I live my life holistically and in the now. Meditation, yoga and self-development is now apart of my everyday routine.

I have never felt so alive and had such a purpose that makes me want to jump out of bed every morning.

Go Vegan ❤

Love & Light

Vegie Girl

5 thoughts on “Why I became Vegan

  1. Thanks for this post Tegan. It keeps me motivated when I know I’m not alone on this journey.
    I’ve been vegan for 2 years now. I made the change overnight, after going to world vegan day. Once I learned the truth I couldn’t turn my back on it.
    It feels amazing to live with a clear conscious, as well as fabulous health.

  2. I whole heartedly agree with everything you’ve said here Tegan. I’ve been on high-protein, low-carb diets for most of my adult life and switched overnight to a vegan diet after reading Jonathan Safran-Foer’s ‘Eating Animals’ 8 months ago. I’ve experienced the same spiritual awakening too, which was completely unexpected, but nice. After watching Cowspiracy last week at the Astor, It really seems there’s a great urgency for us to spread our message to all that will listen.

  3. Hi Tegan,

    So I think I want to go from vegetarian to vegan and follow the 801010. I have been reading lots and doing research but it’s hard to read everything. I spoke with Lauren re it to.

    Do you do health consults etc? Or should I wait till you open your cafe? One concern is the fact bananas are in everything well nearly.

    Your advice is much appreciated Nik

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

