WHY I LOVE MY ALKALINE DIET

There are just so many, amazing reasons to go Alkaline. A few years ago I was completely fed up with feeling low in energy, bloated and lacking in overall vitality. I didn’t know what to do because I was eating a clean diet much like the Paleo Diet at the time and I didn’t think I could possibly eat any better!!

I was doing some research and came across Dr Robert Young’s book ‘The pH Miracle’. Learning about Alkalising the body changed my views on everything I thought was right about nutrition, it finally made sense to why I wasn’t getting any better and why my energy was so low.

The more research I did the more I found. There were so many articles written on celebrities who eat and swear by an alkaline diet to maintain their figure, energy and health. Celebrities such as Elle Macpherson who eats an 80/20 Alkaline Diet, Victoria Beckham, Gwyneth Paltrow and Brad Pitt to name a few.

31865-1_n

The alkaline diet is based on the pH of foods that we eat. All the foods, after being digested, absorbed, and metabolized release either an acid or an alkaline base (bicarbonate) into blood.

Mostly all animal products and highly processed foods are acid forming. such as Grains, seafood, meat, poultry, dairy, processed sugar and salt. The introduction and dramatic rise in our consumption of these foods meant that the typical Western diet became more acid-producing. Over the years our consumption of fresh fruits and vegetables has decreased making our diets even more acidic, 97% of the population has a diet very low in fibre.

Our blood is slightly alkaline, with a normal pH level between 7.35 and 7.45.

There are so many benefits to eating an Alkaline diet. Some benefits include increased energy levels, improved immune function, healthier teeth, bones and hair, reduced inflammation and slower ageing.

If you have a disease or cancer the best thing you can do for your body is to eat an alkaline diet as this helps the body to recover faster. Disease has trouble surviving in an alkaline environment, it will thrives in an acid environment as it acts as a fertile breeding ground for chronic illness.

I am running an event with my business partner Matthew Bate on how to Alkalise your Body and Mind on October the 11th in Melbourne.

If your also looking to increasing your energy, vitality or maybe wanting to losing some weight I highly recommend you coming along.

To find out some more information about the event go to www.theresmoretoraw.com

 

Love VG xxx

 IMG_0112

Leave a Reply

