HOW TO THRIVE ON A RAW DIET

Hey Vegie Friends!

It is day 3 of my Raw January Challenge! Congratulations to everyone who has made it this far. If you didn’t know already I am a big advocate of a low fat, Raw Vegan Diet. I have been eating this way for the last 2-3 years, and I can honestly tell you that I feel the best I have ever felt in my entire life.

For me it was a process to change to this lifestyle, so don’t be hard on yourself if you find it difficult at first. Having grown up suffering IBS, I also had a very strong reason to change my diet, and this drove me to make the change quite quickly.

After changing my diet nearly 4 years ago from what I thought was a ‘regular healthy Australian diet’, to a low fat vegan diet, I have noticed significant improvement in my overall health and wellbeing. My energy has increased, I now have mental clarity I never imagined, I rarely ever get sick, my skin has cleared up, and my nails feel stronger than ever before. I have even noticed a massive increase in my recovery after exercise, and best of all I absolutely love what I eat.

I follow the 80/10/10 diet meaning 80% of your calories come from Carbohydrates, 10% to come from Fat and 10% come from Protein. The 80/10/10 Diet is a book written by Dr Douglas Graham that I highly recommend everyone to read.

Yes that means I eat lots of carbs and I am not fat! And no I do not have a protein deficiency..

When you consume a low fat raw vegan diet you do not need to limit yourself. It is really hard to overeat fruit and vegetables because of their high water and fiber content. You just can’t physically eat too much. Also they are so nutrient dense that you feel satiated quite quickly after eating. With that said it’s also critical to eat enough! Not eating enough is often the reason why people don’t succeed in eating this diet.

I eat and promote an abundance diet. I do not count calories or worry about what I am eating as long as it is in a whole food form and is low in fat. I eat until I am satiated and only eat when I am truly hungry. The cleaner you eat the easier it becomes to listen to your body.

My day generally begins with a Green Smoothie or Juice. If I am hungry I will have about 1.5-2L of Green Smoothie, if not I will have some fruit and vegetable juice or just water alone.

My favorite Green Smoothie Recipe is:

Ingredients

2 ripe bananas

1 handful Spinach

1 small cucumber

1-3 sticks of celery

2 fresh Dates

Coconut water

Ice

Method:

Chop all the ingredients into small pieces, put the bananas in first then the remainder of the ingredients.

Blend together using a blender until smooth.

Pour in a glass and enjoy!

DSC00617

My next meal is usually just fruit or sometimes a large mixed salad.

Lately I am loving watermelon, red papayas and mangoes. They are sweet fruits so they are very satisfying and filling.

One of my favorite recipes is the Banana Date delight in a papaya!

 DSC00175

My last meal of the day is a ridiculously large and colourful raw salad. I mix whatever I have in the fridge together and dress it with lemon or orange juice squeezed on top.

IMG_1143

During the day I snack on fruit like bananas and dates when I feel I need to eat or make a fresh juice.

Pre and post workout I have a green smoothie to alkalize the body and nourish the cells with glucose from carbohydrates for optimum repair and recovery.

If you are just beginning, eating 80- 90% raw is fantastic! Or just focus on cutting down on the fat as a good start. If you are going to start with anything add a green smoothie into your diet every day, and you will be amazed at the massive benefits you will feel from just this small adjustment in your diet.

Photo on 23-12-2013 at 7.11 pm

Love Vegie Girl xx

4 thoughts on “HOW TO THRIVE ON A RAW DIET

Leave a Reply

