Homemade Toothpaste Recipe

Homemade Toothpaste Recipe

This toothpaste is easy to make, cheap and will clean, protect and even whiten your teeth like nothing ever before.

1394476_612536812136009_880655361_n

Ingredients:

Bi-carb soda – A mild abrasive that dissolves easily. In solution it will kill microorganisms and disease related bacteria. It will also neutralize and detoxify the bacterial acids and toxins that form in plaques.

Coconut Oil Is antibacterial, beneficial for gum health, protects tooth enamel and whitens the teeth.

Peppermint or Mint Essential OilIs used to flavour the toothpaste.

SteviaNatural sweetener (Optional)

Neem Oil (optional) – Has anti bacterial benefits that help to prevent tooth decay and gingivitis.

Food Grade Hydrogen Peroxide 35%  (optional) – Is a natural teeth whitener.

Method:

-Mix 1 cup of Bi-carb soda in a bowl with approximately ½ cup of melted Coconut oil.

– Add 10-15 drops of essential oils, 1 teaspoon of stevia (optional) 5 drops of Neem oil and 10 drops of the hydrogen peroxide.

–  Mix in a mortar and pestle until it forms a paste. Add more coconut oil or Bi-carb soda if needed.

– Store in a glass jar.

7 thoughts on “Homemade Toothpaste Recipe

  1. Hi Vegie Girl,

    Have been loving your recipes for green smoothie and raw zucchini and am starting to live off of them as am feeling much better already! Found your and Matt’s website for Green Warriors initially and am loving what you both are doing (thumbs up icon!). Anyhow, I also made your toothpaste recipe this morning but came home this eve and it has gone as hard as a rock because of the coconut oil – do you have any tips to avoid that? I did make it without any essential oil or hydrogen peroxide as haven’t got those ingredients yet, so could that be the reason it turned to stone? ha ha

    Anyway, I must follow you Green Warriors on WordPress too and it’s a pity I didn’t discover you guys while I was living in Melbourne (second half of 2011 and start of 2012) as I’m from Northern Ireland and am now living back here in the cold and Vitamin D-deprived landscape – d’oh! Miss the Vegie Bar on Brunwick Street

  2. Hi Vegie Girl,

    I love this recipe and I would love to use it. I was wondering if you have a substitute for the mint in the flavoring. I’m allergic to mint and I can’t drink, eat or smell anything with mint in it. If you have a substitute, I would love it if you could share it with me!

  3. Hi Vegie Girl,

    I love this recipe and would love to use it. I was just wondering if there is an alternative to mint that I could use. I’m allergic to mint and can’t put it in anything that I eat, drink,or smell. Please let me know if you have an alternative. I would really appreciate it! Great recipe!

Leave a comment