DAY 2 – WHY I JUICE FAST

People often wonder and ask me why I fast! I have a super clean diet that consists of organic whole foods, I am never sick, I am a healthy weight, I don’t drink alcohol or consume toxins and I use all natural products… The reason why I like to fast yearly is to reset my body so that I can prevent any build up of toxins that I cannot avoid in daily life such as pollution, and to make sure I am in perfect nick all year round! You can never be too healthy, I say!

While fasting you give your whole body a chance to clean house. Without the added burden of digestion, which takes a lot of time and energy, the body is now free to work on other things like detoxing the liver and kidneys and healing damaged cells. When we drink Raw vegetable juices, the situation is entirely different, as these [micronutrients] are digested and assimilated within 10 to 15 minutes after we drink them and they are used almost entirely in the nourishment and regeneration of the cells and tissues, glands and organs of the body. In this case the result is obvious, as the entire process of digestion and assimilation is completed with a maximum degree of speed and efficiency, and with a minimum of effort on the part of the digestive system. – Dr. Norman Walker: “Fresh Vegetable and Fruit Juices“, Pg 9

Vegetables are highly alkalizing for the body. The benefits of maintaining alkalinity in the body are crucial. Here are just a few benefits of maintaining an alkaline environment in our body:

-Improved focus and mental clarity

-Improved heart and cardiovascular function

-Anti-Aging

-Improved bone & joint function

-Stronger Immune System – infections and disease thrive in an acidic environment

-Better digestion

-Better overall mood

-Healthier hair, skin and nails

-Natural body weight

-Increases energy levels

Juicing is the perfect way to turn your body into an alkaline state. An acid environment is where disease can grow and toxins build up. If you have a disease or if you get sick often your body may be acidic! Acidity is ageing for the body and basically does the complete opposite to what alkaline foods does. Eating as much raw food as possible or juicing daily will help to balance your natural pH!

Even for a super healthy person I can feel the difference and benefit greatly from a fast! I am on Day 2 and I already feel cleaner, leaner and healthier on the inside.

Leave a Reply

